Barenaked Lady

When I first had the idea of doing this blog I had brainstormed in an entirely different direction. I thought it might be interesting for my lovely followers (thanks you so much for your support and involvement by the way) to see just exactly what makeup can do for a woman. That woman would be me. I then started discussing my fears of posting a picture of my bare naked mug on the internet with my husband. That is when he said something to me that really got me thinking.

“Hey Andrea, do you remember that big scandal with David Letterman? He had multiple indiscretions with his fellow interns, some creepy guy had found out, collected proof and was planning on blackmailing him. A trial in front of a judge was quickly arranged and the man was arrested. Dave then had to decide what he was going to do because certainly the media would go into a frenzy when they found out. What did he do? After his opening monologue one night he sat at his desk and on national television he told his story. With humor, grace, and respect for all people involved he was transparent with his flaws while at the same time displaying his strengths.”

I was floored. My husband (whose thoughts I had gathered until this point mainly consisted of video games and cheeseburgers) had rendered me speechless with his insight. I literally barely spoke for an hour as I thought about it, and now am sitting at my laptop to share those thoughts with you.

Why would I ever fear that a picture of my face without makeup on it would end up on the internet? Well the answer is pretty simple, and I am pretty sure that a lot of women would feel the same. There you are, for the entire world to see with every flaw hanging out. Every blemish, wrinkle, and age spot rendered helpless to the camera flash. What if people called you ugly? Or even worse, what if people called you beautiful but you weren’t able to convince yourself they were being truthful? Oh man, the nasty thoughts that can race through someones mind.

How about this instead? How about we approach makeup and the reasons why we use it a little bit differently. Instead of concentrating its use to conceal imperfections, we set our sights on using it to enhance our strengths. In my view makeup is supposed to be fun, not a crutch to bear the weight of our insecurity. You and I are both the same (yes, YOU). We are deeply flawed as all humans are, but we also have a rich bounty of strengths to our disposal. An acceptance of both aspects is surely the path we all should be on. So the next time you reach for your makeup bag I ask you not to change what you do, but how you think. Change the way you see makeup, and you can change the way you see yourself when you are wearing it. Also, when you have nothing on at all don’t be afraid. It’s only YOU. And I am sure you are truly beautiful, flaws and all.

If you want to be filled in on everything Alkeme Beauty is up to find me on-

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/AlkemeBeauty

Twitter: www.twitter.com/AlkemeBeauty

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/alkemebeauty

Instagram: @AlkemeBeauty

 

In the words of Wayne Goss- "Remember, it's only makeup."

In the words of Wayne Goss- “Remember, it’s only makeup.”

10 thoughts on “Barenaked Lady

  1. You are wonderful! Let’s all adopt this mindset and inspire women everywhere to be unafraid of showing their own natural beauty. I think of makeup as art and I love to express myself through it. Thats how I feel makeup should be used, as a way to express our creativity, not to create a mask to hide behind! Great post!!! Kat

  2. You’re absolutely right. Whenever i see magazines with stupid pictures of celebrities without makeup – I always think they look great and so what? Makeup should not be our prison it should be our playground.

Leave a Reply

