Lips Like Sugar.

When I get an idea in my head I am like a dog with a bone. It’s all I can think of and if I cannot physically manifest this idea quickly and efficiently I become twitchy and obsessed. For example- If I have a great idea for a blog, it doesn’t matter what I am doing at the time, the topic and form will consume my every thought before I can get to my laptop. This is probably why I keep such a strict calendar, have detailed lists all over the place, and often space out when people are talking to me. I just can’t help myself.

Let’s rewind to last week.

Fall and winter makeup trends have certainly been favoring dark lip stains. “Oxblood” is certainly the name of the game (Ew, what a gross color name). One thing you have to be especially careful of when you are sporting those dark vampy lips is to ensure your lips are soft, flake-free, and moisturized.

Glamour Women of the Year Awards 2012

This lead us to my new obsession- lip scrubs. What is a lip scrub? Well generally they are a lip balm of sorts with an exfoliant in it. The composition can greatly vary, but the desired effect is all the same. Soft and supple lips with no icky flakes. Lip scrubs are sold at most drugstores, and speciality shops. They range in price from $5-$25 which I think is an absolute crime.

This is when the fever started. I wanted a lip scrub. I didn’t want to pay for one. But I wanted one so bad. But they are so expensive! BUT I MUST HAVE ONE.

Calm down Andrea. Think for a minute and just make one yourself. So I did, and it turned out better than I could have ever expected. Here is my magical recipe:

1 Tb petroleum jelly

1 Tsp coconut oil

1 Tsp honey

3 drops peppermint oil

5 drops Vitamin E oil

2 Tb raw sugar (refined white works as well)

 Take all of those ingredients, and mash them together with a fork. If you would like it to be more grainy, add more sugar, less grainy, less sugar. Mix them up until you can mix no further and then stick in an old lip gloss pot (sterilized). BAM! LIP SCRUB! The coconut oil, honey, and vitamin E are super moisturizing and the peppermint oil is super refreshing. It’s also delicious if you happen to get some in your mouth.

This recipe makes a huge amount of scrub, and costs less than a dollar to make.

Feel free to comment down below and let me know how this recipe works for you! Have a recipe of your own? Let me know!

 If you want to be filled in on everything Alkeme Beauty is up to find me on-

Facebook: www.facebook.com/AlkemeBeauty

Twitter: www.twitter.com/AlkemeBeauty

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/alkemebeauty

Instagram: @AlkemeBeauty

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Lips Like Sugar.

  1. fashionssake says:

    I have nominated you for the Liebster aware, check out my blog to see what it involves http://fashionssake.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/liebster-award/ Xx

  2. Thanks for the recipe! I find a damp muslin or face cloth does a pretty good job too.

  3. abiainscough says:

    Making your own lip scrub is such a good idea! Especially because it means you can avoid all the harsh chemicals that store-bought beauty products contain, yuck! Do you think you could substitute the coconut oil for, maybe, extra virgin olive oil? Thanks, great post!

    • The reason I picked coconut oil is that it remains a solid at room temperature lending to a more “lip balm” consistency. You could absolutely use olive oil, but I would cut the amount in half and be prepared, the mixture will be more runny. Thank you so much for reading!

  4. I’m exactly the same when I get an idea in my head:) Such a trial! Also, I bought a super spendy Smashbox lipscrub and have always regretted it. Complete waste of money!

    Sarah

    http://www.poutineandprada.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 500 other followers

